See our main website for complete information about library spaces, collections, and services.
This site has limited content
Current Page Path
Browse results for: British and Irish Studies in Databases
Highly Recommended Databases
1 - 9 of 9
- Historical Abstracts with Full Text (EBSCO)
Historical Abstracts covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world ...
- Bibliography of British and Irish History
An authoritative guide to what has been written about British and Irish history from the Roman period to the present day.
- 17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers
The largest single collection of seventeenth- and eighteenth-century English news media available from the British Library
- British Library Newspapers
Provides full-text, searchable access to more than 160 newspapers reflecting 18th- through 20th-century British culture and politics.
- Eighteenth Century Collections Online
The ECCO collection consists of the works represented in the English Short Title Catalogue between 1701 and 1800.
- Empire Online
Over 60,000 images of original manscripts related to Empire Studies sourced from libraries and archives around the world.
- English Short Title Catalogue (British Library)
The 'English Short Title Catalogue' (ESTC) is a comprehensive, international union catalogue listing early books, serials, newspapers ...
- Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
Includes index to citations from more than 1,600 scholarly journals in all areas of Medieval and Renaissance studies (400-1700). Also ...
- Periodicals Index Online
Indexes over 7,000 arts, humanities & social science journals, from their first issues through 2000.
1 - 147 of 147
- American Records in the House of Lords Archive, 1621-1917
Full-text documents relating to North America and its impact upon British trade, strategy, and foreign relations.
- The American Revolution from a British Perspective, 1763-1783
British pamphlets relating to the American Revolution, 1763-1783
- American Slave Trade Records and Other Papers of the Tarleton Family, 1678-1838
Papers relating to the Tarletons, a family of influential merchants in Liverpool during the 18th century.
- Archive of Celtic-Latin Literature
A full-text database of the corpus of Latin literature produced in Celtic-speaking Europe from the period 400-1200 A.D.
- Artemis Primary Sources
Collection that includes materials from Gale's 18th C. Collections Online and 19th C. Collections Online.
- Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange
Digital archive of records documenting U.S. and British relations with a variety of Asian Nations.
- The Atheist Politician and His Anti-war Daughter: The Bradlaughs, 1833-1948
Papers of Charles Bradlaugh, co-founder of the National Secular Society.
- Australia in Records from Colonial Missionaries, 1808-1967
Full-text documents relating to the establishment and development of the Church of Australia.
- BBC Handbooks, Annual Reports and Accounts, 1927-2002
Full-text documents of the British Broadcasting Corporation, including schedules, audience research, and editorials.
- BBC Listener Research Department Reports, 1937-1950
Full-text collection of Audience Research Reports of the British Broadcasting Corporation’s Listener Research Department from 1937 to 1950.
- biab: British and Irish Archaeological Bibliography
Database contains publications "on archaeology and the historic environment, historic buildings, maritime and industrial ...
- Bibliography of Middle English
The Bibliography (formerly the 'Hyperbibliography') includes all the Middle English materials which are cited in the Middle English Diction…
- Bolton's Mills, How the Spinning Mule Changed the Textile Industry, 1672-1929
Textile industry documents demonstrating the impact of the industrial revolution in Northern England.
- BREPOLiS Databases Portal
Listing of Brepols online databases, bibliographies, dictionaries, indexes, encyclopedias and full-text resources
- Brill's Medieval Reference Library Online
Online encyclopedias of Medieval Pilgrimage, Medieval Chronicle, Medieval Dress and Textiles of the British Isles
- Bristol Shipping Records: Imports and Exports, 1770-1917
Full-text of shipping records for vessels which docked in the port of Bristol.
- British Army Lists of Officers, 1740-1784
These lists reveal where the British army regiments fought from the Seven Years War to the American Revolution.
- British Campaign in Mesopotamia, 1914-1918
Digital archive of British documents pertaining to the British / Indian Army expedition to Iraq during World War I
- British Diplomacy with America and Ireland, an Ambassador's Letters, 1909-1962
Correspondence of British ambassador Arthur C. Murray, sheding light on British politics and Anglo-American relations.
- British Labour Party Papers, 1906-1969
Papers covering the foundation and history of the British Labour Party, revealing much about both current events and the party's activities.
- British Labour Party Papers, 1968-1994
Papers of the British Labour Party, 1968-1994, including minutes of Party Meetings, the Liaison Committee, and the Parliamentary Committee.
- British Manuscripts Project
The British Manuscripts Project: a checklist of the microfilms prepared in England and Wales for ACLS, 1941-1945.
- British Newspapers 1600-1950
Cross searches the 17th-18th Century Burney Collection and the British Library Newspapers Series (1732-1950)
- British Officers' Diaries from World War 1, 1914-1919
Diaries of British soldiers of various ranks in WWI, revealing what life was life for the average British solder.
- British Online Archives
Online archive of documents related to British history.
- British Parliamentary History, 1102-1803
Extensive collection of manuscripts and records relating to the history of Parliament and British politics.
- British Periodicals
ProQuest's British Periodicals Collections I and II
- British Periodicals
ProQuest's British Periodicals Collections I and II
- British Politics and Society
Digital archive that documents the development of urban centers and the restructuring of society during the Industrial Revolution.
- British Poor Schools in the Nineteenth Century, 1812-1901
These reports cover the history of poor schools and the societies that ran them in Britain.
- British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture
Digital archive of primary sources related to the arts in the Victorian era.
- The British Union of Fascists: Newspapers and Secret Files, 1933-1951
Documents tracing the rise and fall of British fascism before, during, and after the Second World War.
- British Women Trade Unionists on Strike at Bryant & May, 1888
Collection contains business records from Bryant & May and press coverage of the 1888 strike.
- C19: The Nineteenth Century Index
C19 is a bibliography for 19th-century research
- Canada in Records from Colonial Missionaries, 1722-1952
Letters and other materials of the Canadian branch of the United Society Partners in Gospel, a missionary organization.
- Canada, America & the West Indies Imports and Exports to the UK, 1678-1825
Collection contains Naval Office shipping lists, providing an overview of the conduct of Anglo-American trade over a long period.
- Canada, Between the US and Empire, 1883-1904
Papers of the Earl of Minto, Canadian Military Secretary and later Governor General of Canada.
- The Church of England and Social Change in Manchester, 1635-1928
Ecclesiastical, court and land records in the Manchester Cathedral archives.
- Cold War Intelligence Online: The Secret War Between the U.S. and the USSR, 1945-1991
Collection of declassified government documents covering the espionage activities of the U.S. intelligence community during the Cold War.
- Colonial Africa in Official Statistics, 1821-1953
Annual reports compiled by the colonial governments in the Gold Coast and British Togoland (modern-day Ghana).
- Colonial America
Digitized collection of all 1,450 volumes of the CO 5 series of Colonial Office files held at the UK National Archives.
- Colonial Law in Africa, 1808-1919
An extensive digital collection of the laws and other legal records for the British colonies in Africa from 1808 through 1919.
- Colonial Law in Africa, 1920-1945
An extensive digital collection of the laws and other legal records for the British colonies in Africa from 1920 through 1945.
- Colonial Law in Africa, 1946-1966
An extensive digital collection of the laws and other legal records for the British colonies in Africa from 1946 through 1966.
- Colonial Missionaries' Papers from America and the West Indies, 1701-1870
Sermons, documents, and reports of the United Society Partners in Gospel, an Anglican missionary organization.
- Colonial Women Missionaries of the Committee for Women's Work, 1861-1967
Correspondence, meeting minutes, and other documents relating to the work of colonial women missionaries of the Committee for Women's Work.
- Confidential Print: North America, 1824-1961
Digital collection of documents issued by the British Foreign and Colonial Office.
- Conscientious Objection during World War I
Key anti-war publications and other documents from British anti-war protest groups.
- The Court Rolls of Ramsey, Hepmangrove and Bury, 1268-1600
The court rolls are records of court proceedings that occurred between 1268-1600.
- Creation of Israel: British Foreign Office Correspondence on Palestine and Transjordan, 1940-1948
Documents related to the modern history of the Middle East and establishment of Israel as a sovereign state.
- Daily Mail Historical Archive (1896-2004)
Complete Daily Mail archive from 1896-2004.
- Dictionary of Irish Biography
The Dictionary of Irish Biography, a collaborative project between Cambridge University Press and the Royal Irish Academy, is the most ...
- Digital Scholar Lab
Facilitates the application of text mining and visualization tools on data sets created from the library's Gale Primary Sources
- Early Canadiana Online
Early Canadiana Online (ECO) is a full text online collection of more than 3,000 books and pamphlets documenting Canadian history from ...
- Early English Books Online (EEBO)
Early English EEBO contains digital facsimile page images of works printed between 1473 and 1700.
- Early English Books Online - Text Creation Partnership (EEBO-TCP)
The Early English Books Online corpus consists of the works represented in the English Short Title Catalog I and II.
- East India Company
India Office Records from the British Library, 1595-1947
- Economist Historical Archive 1843-2014
A complete searchable archive of every issue of The Economist from 1843 to four years ago, with full-color images.
- Economist Intelligence Unit Country Reports 1952 – 1995
Country level data from the EIU from 1952-1995 for nearly 200 countries
- Eighteenth Century Drama: Censorship, Society and the Stage
British plays licenced between 1737 and 1824 as well as documents that provide their social context.
- Eighteenth Century Journals
Periodicals of multiple subjects and themes depicting the evolution of the publishing world between 1685 and 1835.
- Encyclopedia of India
A four-volume survey of the history, cultures, geography and religions of India from ancient times to the present day. Includes more ...
- English Heritage Archives
Database of over one million catalogue entries describing photographs, plans, and drawings of England's buildings and historic sites.
- English Historical Documents Online
Online collection of over 5,000 historical documents
- European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection
Digital archive of rare British Romantic-era writing contained in the Corvey Collection.
- First World War Poetry Digital Archive
The First World War Poetry Digital Archive is an online repository of over 4000 items of text, images, audio, and video for teaching, ...
- Foreign Office Files for Japan 1919-1952
British Foreign Office files dealing with Japan
- Foreign Office Files for the Middle East 1971-1981
Digital collection of documents from the British Foreign Office for the history of the Middle East during the 1970s
- Gambia Under Colonial Rule, in Government Reports, 1881-1966
Annual departmental reports relating to the colonial government of Gambia.
- Ghana and Sierra Leone in Colonial and Missionary Records, 1700-1850
Letters and other materials of the West African branches of the United Society Partners in Gospel, a missionary organization.
- Ghana and Togo under Colonial Rule, in Government Reports, 1843-1957
Annual departmental reports relating to the Gold Coast and Togoland.
- Ghana in Records from Colonial Missionaries, 1886-1951
Documents of the missionary organization United Society Partners in Gospel, which operated in the Gold Coast.
- Guardian and Observer, 1791-2003
Full-text searchable access to the complete backfiles of The Guardian, 1821-2003 (published in Manchester, England) and The Observer, ...
- Hengwrt Chaucer Digital Facsimile
Digital Facsimile of the Hengwrt Chaucer (edited by Estelle Stubbs)
- House of Commons Parliamentary Papers
Includes over 200,000 House of Commons sessional papers from 1715 to the present, with supplementary material back to 1688. HCPP ...
- Humanities and Social Sciences Index (with Abstracts and Full Text)
Covers 1,500+ periodicals across all humanities and social sciences fields, 1907 - present.
- Illustrated London News
A full facsimile run of the illustrated newspaper, 1842-2003. Includes over 260,000 pages, including specials and presentation pieces.
- The Independent Digital Archive, 1986-2016
Online archive of the Independent newspaper from its 1986 to 2016.
- Independent Labour Party Records, 1893-1960
Documents of the Independent Labour Party (ILP), a British left-wing political party founded in 1893.
- India, Business and Control 1806 to 1814: In the Records of the Governor-General
Papers of the first Earl of Minto, Governor-General of India from 1806 until 1813.
- India, Uprising and Reform 1879 to 1910: In the Records of the Governor-General
Documents relating to the tenure of the 4th Earl of Minto, the Viceroy of India between 1905 and 1910.
- Indian and Sri Lankan Records from Colonial Missionaries, 1770-1931
Letters and other materials compiled by the Indian and Sri Lankan branches of the missionary group United Society Partners in Gospel.
- Indian Communists and Trade Unionists on Trial: The Meerut Conspiracy, 1929-1933
Documents related to the Meerut Conspiracy trial and its consequences for British imperialism in India.
- International Medieval Bibliography (IMB)
Index to articles, chapters, Festschriften, conference proceedings, and essays on all aspects of medieval studies
- International Relations Between Britain and America, 1796-1848
The papers of Sir Charles Vaughan and Sir Robert Liston, British ambassadors to the United States.
- Iraq: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1888-1944
Digital archive of U.S. government documents pertaining to Iraq from Ottoman rule through British colonial occupation and independence
- Irish Times, 1859-2012
Digitized versions of The Irish Times (1859-2012) and the Weekly Irish Times (1876-1958).
- JSTOR (temporarily expanded COVID-19 access through August 31, 2020)
Full-text access to the archives of 2,600+ journals and 32,000+ books in the arts, humanities, social sciences and sciences.
- Kenya Under Colonial Rule, in Government Reports, 1907-1964
Reports of the governmental departments of Kenya from its time in the East Africa Colony until independence.
- Liberal Party from Asquith to Ashdown, 1912-1988
A history of the Liberal Party, Social Democratic Party, and Liberal Democrats through meeting and campaigning records.
- Liverpool Shipping Records: Imports and Exports, 1820-1900: Part 1
Documentation of Liverpool's trading history, in records of imports and exports from 1826 to 1860.
- Liverpool Shipping Records: Imports and Exports, 1820-1900: Part 2
Documentation of Liverpool's trading history, in records of imports and exports from 1861 to 1870.
- Liverpool Shipping Records: Imports and Exports, 1820-1900: Part 3
Documentation of Liverpool's trading history, in records of imports and exports from 1871 to 1890.
- Liverpool Shipping Records: Imports and Exports, 1820-1900: Part 4
Documentation of Liverpool's trading history, in records of imports and exports from 1891 to 1900.
- London Low Life
Colour images of rare books, ephemera, maps and other materials relating to 18th, 19th and early 20th century London.
- A London Provisioner's Chronicle, 1550-1563, by Henry Machyn
This website features images of the original manuscript (severely damaged in a 1731 fire), a transcript of the original with additional ...
- Malawi Under Colonial Rule, in Government Reports, 1907-1967
Collection of annual reports compiled by the British colonial government of Nyasaland, modern day Malawi.
- Mass Observation Online
Digital archive of Mass Observation, a social research organisation that recorded life in Britain, 1937-1967.
- Medical Essays Read to the Royal Society in Scotland, 1751-1970
200 volumes of hand-written dissertations submitted to the Royal Medical Society in Scotland during the period 1751-1970.
- Medieval Family Life
Five letter collections from 15th-century England present medieval life in East Anglia during the War of the Roses.
- Medieval Realms
Medieval Realms is a comprehensive collection of original source material for the Middle Ages in Britain.
- The Middle East, Its Division into Countries and the Creation of Israel, 1879-1919
The papers of Sir Mark Sykes, 1879-1919, concerning the Sykes-Picot Agreement & the Middle East
- Military Intelligence Files: Land, Sea & Air, 1938-1974
Cold War and World War Two intelligence reports from the British Army, Navy and RAF.
- Military Tactics Discussed in Letters to and from Military Leaders, 1881-1935
The collected papers and correspondence of the military historian and correspondent, Professor Henry Spenser Wilkinson (1853-1937).
- MLA International Bibliography
Indexes books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and film.
- MyHeritage Library Edition
Resources for historical & genealogical research including over 9 billion historical records from all over the world.
- New Zealand & Polynesian Records from Colonial Missionaries, 1838-1958
Materials compiled by the New Zealand and Polynesian branches of the United Society Partners in Gospel missionary organization.
- Nexis Uni
Full-text access to over 15,000 sources of news, business, legal, and reference information worldwide.
- Nigeria and Cameroon under Colonial Rule, in Government Reports, 1887-1962
Collection containing annual reports compiled by successive British colonial administrations in Nigeria and Cameroon.
- Nineteenth Century Collections Online
Digital primary source collections of the long nineteenth century.
- The Nixon Years, 1969-1974
Digital collection of documents covering Richard Nixon's presidency from a British, Commonwealth, & European perspective.
- Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
Concise articles on noteworthy people from the British Commonweath who are no longer living.
- Oxford English Dictionary (Third Edition)
Current web version of the most complete and authoritative dictionary of the English language, with historical quotations.
- PAIS Index
Contains references to nearly 2 million journal articles and other resources on public affairs and public policy worldwide.
- Palmer's Index to The Times (1790-1905) (DLPS version)
Brief citations to articles that appeared in The Times (London) (1790-1905).
- Picture Post Historical Archive
The complete archive of the Picture Post from its first issue in 1938 to its last in 1957 - all digitized from originals in full ...
- Popular Culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975
Music, politics, fashion, and youth culture at a time of great social change.
- PressReader (formerly Library PressDisplay)
Access to issues from the last 90 days (or more) of over 7,000 newspapers & magazines from over 100 countries worldwide.
- Prize Papers Online
Digitized interrogation records and cargo inventories from ships seized by British privateers, 1592-1855.
Combined access to all ProQuest databases, covering many different fields and full text articles.
- Prosecuting the Holocaust: British Investigations into Nazi Crimes
Documents relating to the British government's efforts to investigate and prosecute Nazi crimes during the period 1944-1949.
- Punch Historical Archive, 1841-1992
Online archive of the British periodical Punch
- Queen Victoria's Journals
Fully searchable digital reproductions of every page in the entire sequence of Queen Victoria's diaries.
- Scotsman, 1817-1950
Digitized version of the Scotsman (Great Britain) newspaper, 1817-1950
- Scottish Nationalist Leaflets, 1844-1973
Pamphlets relating to Scottish Nationalism, 1844-1973.
- Scottish Trade with Africa and the West Indies in the Early 18th Century, 1694-1709
Records of the Company of Scotland Trading to Africa and the Indies, also known as the Darien Company.
- Scottish Women's Suffrage Movement, 1902-1933
Records of the Glasgow and West of Scotland Society for Women's Suffrage
- Sierra Leone under Colonial Rule, in Government Reports, 1893-1961
Annual reports compiled by the British colonial government in Sierra Leone.
- Slave Trade Records from Liverpool, 1754-1792
Papers of merchants who were involved in the transatlantic slave trade during the period 1754-1792.
- Slave Trading Records from William Davenport & Co., 1745-1797
Records of British slave trader William Davenport.
- Slavery: Supporters and Abolitionists, 1675-1865
Wide-ranging collection of documents concerning the African slave trade during the 17th, 18th, and 19th centuries.
- Sociological Abstracts
Provides access to the international literature in sociology and related disciplines. Covers 1800+ journals, back to 1952.
- Soldier in Later Medieval England
Database of soldiers in English royal armies between 1369 and 1453. Transcribed from the muster rolls and other sources, the database ...
- State Papers Online, 1509-1782
State Papers Online, 1509-1782 is a searchable archive of 16th-, 17th- and 18th-century State Papers, Domestic and Foreign
- Taking India, How the Military Established Company Rule, 1752-1774
Papers of the East India Company, demonstratng how India was defeated and claimed by the Empire under company rule.
- Tanzania and Malawi in Records from Colonial Missionaries, 1857-1965
Missionary papers providing insight into the spread of Christianity in Central Africa.
- Times Digital Archive
Online backfile of The Times newspaper of London, England, covering 1785 to 2006.
- Times of India, 1861-2006
Searchable access to the backfile of The Times of India, in full page images digitized from microfilm.
- Trade and Commerce in Liverpool to 1900
Contains all the street and trade directories dating from 1766 to 1900 held by the Liverpool Record Office.
- Trade Unionist, Electoral Reformist and Politican: George Howell, 1833-1910
Papers of George Howell, providing insight into the Victorian labour movement.
- Uganda under Colonial Rule, in Government Reports, 1903-1961
Annual departmental reports relating to Uganda, 1903-1961
- Virginia Company Archives
Digital collection of documents relating to the founding & economic development of Virginia.
- Waterloo Directory of English Periodicals and Newspapers, 1800-1900
Provides detailed information about 19th-Century English periodicals and newspapers
- Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals, 1824-1900
Wellesley is an index to the authorship of articles, and a bibliography of articles written by each contributor, and using each ...
- Wesleyan and Primitive Methodist Periodicals, 1744-1960
Materials relating to the Wesleyan movement and Primitive Methodism.
- World War 1 and the Spanish Civil War: As Reported by an Ambassador, 1863-1939
Papers of Sir Esmé Howard, which provide insight on the evolution of British foreign policy during and between the two world wars.
- Zimbabwe under Colonial Rule, in Government Reports, 1897-1980
Annual reports of successive colonial administrations in Rhodesia.