See our main website for complete information about library spaces, collections, and services.
This site has limited content
Current Page Path
Browse results for: Books in Databases
Highly Recommended Databases
1 - 3 of 3
Combined catalog of 360+ million items of all kinds (books, periodicals, videos, maps, etc.) in 25,000+ libraries worldwide.
- HathiTrust Digital Library (temporarily expanded COVID-19 access)
Searchable access to 17 million+ volumes, with full text access to 9 million+ volumes.
- Wiley Online Library
Provides access to online journals and books published by Wiley-Blackwell.
1 - 78 of 78
Offers a complete suite of clinical and educational content from leading books, including Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine.
- Altmetric Explorer
Browse, search, and query "mentions" on the web of publications etc. by researchers at U-M and elsewhere.
- American Book Prices Current
American Book Prices Current is an annual record of books, manuscripts, autographs, maps and broadsides sold at auction.
- Archive of Americana
Combined access to six databases containing full text of historical American books, newspapers & periodicals.
- Artemis Literary Sources
Combined full text of 2 million+ essays, reviews, biographies, timelines, etc. on all types & periods of literature worldwide.
- Bloomsbury Collections
Selected online books in philosophy, classical studies, and other fields from Bloomsbury Publishing
- Book Citation Index
Book citation index allows cited reference searching of over 30,000 editorially selected books published since 2005 in the sciences, social
- Brepols Online
Humanities e-journals and e-books from the publisher Brepols, specializing in classics and medieval studies.
- Brill E-Books
Over 5,000 e-books in humanities, international studies and social sciences from the publisher Brill, 2007 - present.
- C19: The Nineteenth Century Index
C19 is a bibliography for 19th-century research
- Cambridge Books Online
Access to the full text of 4,500+ ebooks from Cambridge University Press, including nearly all books published since 2019.
- Charleston Briefings
The all new Charleston Briefings will be a series of short books (12,000 to 20,000 words) on the topic of innovation in the world of librar…
- Charleston Voices
Charleston Voices is an ongoing yearly series that publishes chapters based on ideas first shared at the annual Charleston Conference.
- Complete Works and Letters of Jane Austen
Full text of Jane Austen's works and letters published by Oxford University Press.
- CRMS Toolkit
Working over a span of nearly eight years, the University of Michigan Library received three grants from the Institute of Museum and Librar…
- Digital General Collection
Over 20,000 books on all topics from the University of Michigan Library collections, scanned for preservation purposes.
- Digital Library of Classic Protestant Texts
Digital facsimiles and searchable full-text, in a variety of languages, of the works of 16th & 17th century Protestant Reformers.
- Digital Library of the Catholic Reformation
Digital facsimiles and searchable full-text, in a variety of languages, of the works of 16th & 17th century Catholic authors.
- Dissertations & Theses @ CIC Institutions (Big Ten Universities)
Describes dissertations and some master theses filed at CIC/Big Ten universities, with full text for most since 1997.
- Dissertations & Theses @ University of Michigan
Describes most dissertations filed at University of Michigan, with full text for most since 1990.
- Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800 & Series I: Supplement
Page images and searchable full-text of Early American Imprints, Series I Evans & Series I Supplement.
- Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819 & Series II: Supplement
Provides full-text access to American books, pamphlets and broadsides published in the first nineteen years of the nineteenth century, ...
- Early English Books Online (EEBO)
Early English EEBO contains digital facsimile page images of works printed between 1473 and 1700.
- Early English Books Online - Text Creation Partnership (EEBO-TCP)
The Early English Books Online corpus consists of the works represented in the English Short Title Catalog I and II.
- eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)
A collection of over 250,000 electronic books on all topics.
- EBSCO Audiobooks
Collection of downloadable e-audio books.
- ENGnetBASE: Engineering Handbooks Online
Online handbooks from CRC Press covering most areas of engineering including aerospace, biomedical, civil, computer, electrical, ...
- The First World War: Personal Experiences and Propaganda
Full-text primary source database of source material for the study of the First World War.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library (Gale eBooks)
Provides online access to over 1,500 reference works from Gale, Macmillan, and other publishers.
- Google Book Search
Searches the full text of books, including those in the University of Michigan Libraries that have been scanned by Google. For works in ...
- De Gruyter Online Books (temporarily expanded COVID-19 access through July 31, 2020)
E-books from Walter de Gruyter and 13 major university presses (Columbia, Harvard, Princeton, U. of California, Chicago, etc.)
A collection of prizewinning History books, published electronically. Topics include, but are not limited to, Africa, Colonial Latin ...
Collection of e-books and other online scholarly materials mostly from the French publisher L’Harmattan.
- Heritage of the Printed Book Database
Union catalog of European printing in the early modern era (from the 15th century to the 1830s). Describes over 2.7 million printed ...
- IEEE Xplore
Full-text access to IEEE transactions, journals, magazines, conference proceedings, standards & online courses, plus related e-books.
- IET Digital Library
The IET runs a professional and academic book programme featuring some 300 books across 12 series, covering all the key areas of engineering
- IGI Global E-Access Books
Online versions of scholarly books about information science and technology and related fields published by IGI Global.
- JSTOR (temporarily expanded COVID-19 access through August 31, 2020)
Full-text access to the archives of 2,600+ journals and 32,000+ books in the arts, humanities, social sciences and sciences.
- Knovel: Engineering & Scientific Online References
Provider of electronic versions of popular reference books in engineering and applied sciences. Titles include Lange's Handbook of ...
- KSI e-Book
Collection of Korean E-Books published by the KSI (Korean Studies Information).
- Maize Books
An imprint of Michigan Publishing, Maize Books serves the publishing needs of the University of Michigan community by making high-quality s…
- McGraw-Hill Education eBook Library
A collection of e-books from publisher McGraw-Hill focusing on the areas of nursing, medicine, and test prep books.
- MGet It Citation Linker
Creates a University of Michigan MGet It (formerly SFX) links to services webpage (fulltext, catalog, etc. links) based on citation ...
- Mirlyn Classic
Library Catalog of the University of Michigan (University Library, Bentley Historical Library, Clements Library, Thompson Library)
- MIT Press e-Books (IEEE)
MIT Press has partnered with IEEE to bring its eBooks content in computer science and engineering technologies to IEEE Xplore.
- Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations
A growing collection of 4 million+ electronic theses and dissertations from 200+ universities worldwide.
- O'Reilly for Higher Education (formerly Safari Books Online)
Online access to 40,000+ technical books, videos, tutorials, case studies, etc. from O'Reilly, Pearson, and other publishers.
- Open Access Theses and Dissertations
Searchable index with links to full text for 3 million+ theses & dissertations from 1,000+ universities & research institutions worldwide.
- Open Book Publishers
High-quality, open access academic research in the Humanities and Social Sciences
- Oxford Classical Dictionary, 4th ed. [Oxford Reference]
Venerable encyclopedic dictionary covering all aspects of the Greek and Roman world.
- Oxford Scholarship Online
Online access to selected academic books published by Oxford University Press.
- Project MUSE
Full-text access to scholarly journals & e-books published by over 120 scholarly societies & university presses.
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses
Descriptions, sometimes with full text, of doctoral dissertations & master theses from US, UK, Canada, Ireland, etc.
- ProQuest Ebook Central
Platform for more than 200,000 ebooks from a variety of publishers.
- Religion Past and Present (RPP) Online
Online version of the 4th edition of the English-language world religion encyclopedia, based upon Religion in Geschichte und Gegenwart (RGG)
- Routledge Handbooks Online
Over 1400 Routledge Handbooks, International Handbooks and Companions on a wide variety of social sciences and humanities topics
- RSC Books
Provides full-text access to scholarly books published by the Royal Society of Chemistry from 1968 to present.
- ScienceDirect (Elsevier Books & Journals Online) (Temporarily Expanded COVID-19 access through August 31, 2020)
Access to more than 2,000 journals and 20,000 books published by Elsevier Science and its subsidiary publishers
- SCIPIO: Art and Rare Book Sales Catalogs
Describes art auction and rare book catalogs for sales from the late sixteenth century to scheduled auctions not yet held, from all ...
- Sex and Sexuality
These three volumes include research, current events and new developments in subjects ranging from hypersexuality, sex for the aged, ...
- Skillsoft Books
Unlimited, full text access to business, technical, and engineering e-books.
- SPIE E-Books
Online source for three valuable series of SPIE Press titles in optics and photonics:* SPIE Press Monographs are authoritative ...
- SPO Scholarly Monograph Series
The SPO Scholarly Monograph Series is an interdisciplinary collection of original, open-access scholarly monographs and essays.
- Springer English/International eBook Collection
Provides online full-text access to over 100,000 books in many subject areas from the academic publisher Springer.
Provides online full-text access to many of the Springer electronic journals; along with many electronic books and series.
Full-text resource that searches across more than 25 medical and drug texts.
- Taylor & Francis eBooks
Online access to over 25,000 academic books published by Taylor & Francis and CRC Press
- Text Digital Collections
Collections of electronic books and journals from the University of Michigan University Library and other sources.
- Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG): A Digital Library of Greek Literature
A searchable database of all Greek texts from Homer to A.D. 600.
- Translated Texts for Historians E-Library
English translations of key historical sources from the time of late antiquity and the early middle ages.
Combined catalog of Big Ten university research libraries containing 90 million items; most can be borrowed by U-M affiliates.
- Union Catalogue of Incunabula
This database appears in conjunction with the print edition of the ‘Union Catalogue of Incunabula’ (Gesamtkatalog der Wiegendrucke) whi ...
- The University of Michigan and Japan's Auto Industry: The Historic USJAC Conferences, 1981-1989
In 1981, the U-M Center for Japanese Studies launched the U.S.-Japan Automotive Conference (USJAC). Held annually until 1989, the USJAC fac…
- Women Writers Online
Contains over 230 texts by pre-Victorian women that can be browsed, searched and analysed. Additionally, Renaissance Women Online ...
- World Digital Library
Cultural treasures from around the world including rare books, manuscripts, maps, scores, and photos.
- WorldCat Dissertations and Theses
A subset of the WorldCat union catalog database containing over 8 million records describing dissertations, theses, and published ...
- Wright American Fiction, 1851-1875
Full-text electronic archive based on the bibliography compiled by Lyle Wright. Consists of 2,887 novels and other works of fiction by ...
- Yizkor (Holocaust Memorial) Books
Yizkor (memorial) books are an invaluable source of information to researchers as they are often the only resource for vital ...